Main Menu

Explore More

Technology

Parkland Digital Learning Resources - created to support parents, students, and staff

CHROMEBOOKS: All Parkland students will retain their assigned Chromebooks over the Summer.

Please keep your chromebook and charger safe and away from extreme temperatures. To store your chromebook for the summer, check the battery life is at 80% before shutting down.  Even when a chromebook is off, its battery continues to lose charge.  Do not let the battery fully discharge over the summer.  This may require you to turn on your chromebook and charge it to 80% occasionally.  At least one week before school resumes, 1) plug in your chromebook to a power source to fully charge the battery. 2) Connect your chromebook to WiFi.  3) Finally, restart your chromebook to perform Chrome OS updates while plugged in.  


Current 8th Grade students will be contacted in August with the opportunity to exchange their existing chromebook for a new Chromebook.  This will be their new learning device for Grades 9-12.

Will they have certain restrictions? Yes, The same content filtering policies will remain intact.

Can we set some time limits on how long they can be on? The District will not be enforcing time limits on the devices.

Will these Chromebooks be monitored by the school? Our content filter does generate logs of student activity but it is not actively monitored.

Will there be restrictions on Google? The same restriction will apply as during the school year. Access to Google apps necessary for educational purposes will be available.

Can my student use the Chromebook during summer? Students are encouraged to use their Chromebooks over the summer to continue with learning activities and some students may have summer enrichment or summer school credit recovery that requires the Chromebook.

Technology Department Newsletter

Technology Department Staff

Contact the Technology Department at 610.351.5590 or by email addresses listed below.

Title Name Email
Director of Technology Tom Derhammer derhammert@parklandsd.org
Assistant Director of Technology Ed Kobus kobuse@parklandsd.org
Senior Network Administrator Esmir Becirovic becirovice@parklandsd.org
Network Administrator Andrew Kravelick kravelicka@parklandsd.org
Coordinator of Educational Technology JR Renna rennaj@parklandsd.org
Telecommunications Rob Uhl uhlr@parklandsd.org
Systems Analyst/PIMS Coordinator Elizabeth Duld dulde@parklandsd.org
Technician Matt Kemmerer kemmererm@parklandsd.org
Technician Greg Parlo parlog@parklandsd.org
Technician Eric Weiss weisse@parklandsd.org
Technology Support Nancy Tenetylo tenetylon@parklandsd.org
Technology Facilitator Shaheeda Shivji shivjis@parklandsd.org
Internet Application Specialist Melissa Lynn lynnm1@parklandsd.org
PHS Library Dept. Head / Instructional Technology Coach Lauren Will  willl@parklandsd.org
Technology Integration Specialist Samantha Edwards edwardss1@parklandsd.org
   
Technology Paraprofessionals/Technicians
Parkland High School Amanda Anderson andersona2@parklandsd.org
Orefield Middle School   g
Springhouse Middle School Joanne Quinn quinnj@parklandsd.org
Cetronia Elementary Kathy Molinari molinarik@parklandsd.org
Fogelsville Elementary
Parkway Manor Elementary
William Yazujian yazujianw@parklandsd.org
Ironton Elementary Avery Frohnheiser frohnheisera@parklandsd.org
Jaindl Elementary Jose Arzuaga arzuagaj@parklandsd.org
Kratzer Elementary Kimberly Tizio tiziok@parklandsd.org
Kernsville Elementary
Schnecksville Elementary
Josh Wuchter wuchterj@parklandsd.org
Veterans Memorial Elementary Jared Howard howardj@parklandsd.org